Woes of Being Unemployed

Okay, so here’s my issue.

Jobs are everything, right? I mean, I’m in this group in church right now that is currently emphasizing finances and work history and the summary of the class, so far, is that ‘as God worked, we must work, too’ and our work defines who we are as humans and helps us connect closer to God, so to speak. And that’s all fine and great, because it is true. Humans are put here for a purpose, not just to diddle around all day.

So I will be unemployed for two months as of the first of October. By choice, mind you. I wasn’t fired; I resigned.

And I don’t feel as if I need to justify that to anyone.

However, lately I feel like I need an excuse for it. People always ask me why I’m unemployed and what I’m doing now. Like…I’m doing nothing because I’m unemployed, thank you for bringing that up XD

And I get it. This economy, being unemployed is not ideal. I don’t have children, I’m not married, and I have a degree, so why the hell am I unemployed? Well, you know, I wish I weren’t unemployed but that’s just where God led me to. I’m not sitting in the corner, drinking myself to death, feeling sorry for myself. I apply to dozens of jobs every week and, you know what, they’re not easy jobs to get. I consider myself a highly ambitious person. It’s not just that I’m looking for the best job available out there. I’m realistic. I know that the job I’d love to have, I’m not qualified for, and that’s fine. What I’m looking for is a job that I can see a future for myself.

Why on earth would you stay at a job where you don’t see a future for yourself? Yes, it’s scary to be unemployed without a lead. But I’m at a place in my life where I can do it. I’m young, I’m getting a feel for my career, I have a decent amount of money saved up, and I have all the time in the world. I’m in no rush whatsoever.

Whenever the right job comes along, believe me, I’ll be the most dedicated person on the planet and I’ll be the happiest person you’ll see all year.

But please stop asking me why I’m unemployed.

If I knew the answer to that, I probably wouldn’t be unemployed in the first place XD

 

Leave a Reply

